Timoleague Abbey – are the picturesque ruins of the Franciscan monastery with an ancient cemetery, located in the medieval village of Timoleague on the banks of the Argideen River overlooking the bay of Courtmacsherry, in the south of County Cork.
The Timoleague Abbey is located at the end of the southern part of the famous Wild Atlantic Way.
It was founded in 1240 on the site of an earlier church dedicated to Saint. Molagi from the sixth century and founded by Domhnall Got Mc’Carthy and William de Barry with his wife. The abbey was expanded in 1312. Religious brothers remained in the monastery until 1642, when the city and the monastery were burnt by English soldiers under Forbes.
The name of the village itself derives from the Irish name Tigh Molaga which means the house of Molagi – it was he who brought beekeeping to Ireland and the production of honey is still very popular in those regions.
A beautiful place for a Sunday family trip!