Capital: Dublin.
Language: Irish, English.
Currency : Euro
Population: 4,635,400.
Area: 70 273 km2.
Population density: 63 people / km2.

Main religion: 84% Christianity
Highest peak: Carrantuohill 1038 m above sea level
The longest river: Shannon 386 km.
Political system: republic, parliamentary democracy.
National sports: Hurling, Gaelic Football




Ireland – the official name in Irish is Eire. It is located on the island of the same name and covers the greater part of it. It is surrounded by the Irish and Celtic seas, the Atlantic Ocean and the channel of St. George.

Since 1955, Ireland has been a member of the United Nations and joined the European Union in January 1973. For centuries it has been divided into four historic provinces: Leinster, Munster, Connacht, and Ulster. Ireland’s current administrative division is 26 counties: 1. Dublin 2. Wicklow 3. Wexford 4. Carlow 5. Kildare 6. Meath 7. Louth 8. Monaghan 9. Cavan 10. Longford 11. Westmeath 12. Offaly 13. Laois 14. Kilkenny 15. Waterford 16. Cork 17. Kerry 18. Limerick 19. Tipperary 20. Clare 21. Galway 22. Mayo 23. Roscommon 24. Sligo 25. Leitrim 26. Donegal.

The largest cities in Ireland are: Dublin, Cork, Galway, Limerick, Waterford. In 1845-1849 Great Hunger took place in Ireland, the population decreased by 20%, there was also a great wave of emigration the country left 2 000 000 people. The end of English domination began in 1916 by the beginning of the Easter uprising. In 1937, the Irish Constitution entered into force, under which the state of Ireland was created, which continues to this day.

Sport is a very important area of ​​life in Ireland. In some disciplines, mainly in rugby, the national team plays in the cup of 6 nations and it succeeds in it. Inhabitants are primarily interested in national sports: hurling, Gaelic football, rugby, cricket and horse races and dog races.